h1

First Post

March 17, 2011

I’ve been drawn to WordPress for a couple reasons: out of curiosity, out of usefulness in understanding business blogging, and for my own entertainment.  I’m considering pursuing blogging for business reasons (so I can help various companies out in social media) and/or for my own purposes. For now, this blog is designated as my social media exploration tool as I consider entering this career field.

So far, WordPress has been relatively easy to figure out. I suspect they have worked hard to make WordPress a relatively intuitive tool so a variety of end-users may utilize it. As of right now though, I have little knowledge as to all of the features available to me through WordPress and I will need to go through the “Get Started” section of WordPress.

So far, so good. The first part has been quite informative. Now I have edited my time zone, my Gravatar picture, my Blavatar picture (a jungle because I’m exploring WordPress), and I’m going to continue on updating this blog post as I update my site.

Now I’m reading WordPress’s “Get Focused” section where it basically states that the most successful blogs have a singular focus. It said to brainstorm potential focuses of my blog. I know I’ve already decided to make this blog about exploring the features of WordPress (for now at least), but I followed their brainstorm suggestions and came up with this:

Stick-me brainstorming.

Okay, okay, yeah I cheated a little bit and went ahead to their “Get Flashy” section so I could figure out how to post the Paint png file I just created. (And I will tell you now, I’m not creepy looking like the stick figure version of myself. Neither am I purple.) I simply clicked on the first icon after “Upload/Insert” right above the text block and the text toolbar (right ^ up there).  

All of the reasons I have come up with are pretty legitamite. Now they want me to brainstorm my passions:

My brainstorm about some of my passions.

Those are just a few of my passions. Now the instructions want me to link both together, link my focuses in blogging to my passions:

The combo brainstorm wasn't too successful...

The combo brainstorm they wanted me to do wasn’t too successful, then again I didn’t put my effort into brainstorming a bunch of different blogging ideas. I’m simply testing out the various facets of WordPress and what it can do. I’m also blogging in WordPress to preview how it works for businesses in social media and also to demonstrate my own writing abilities and saviness. 😉

I’m going to leave the computer for now and go enjoy the sun while it is out. As for next time, I will continue on the WordPress Tutorial to the section titled “Get Customized”, which I’m guessing is about customizing the appearance of the blog and the blog options.

2 comments

  1. Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.


    • Thank you for your comment, Mr WordPress. I would never have been able to guess that what you left was a comment. Very helpful, indeed. 😉



Leave a Reply

